Roger Catherineau French, 1925-1962

Overview

Since 1948, Roger Catherineau's photographic work has been built as a quest for experimentation. Rejecting any notion of depiction of reality, he elaborates unreferenced, troubled and most often abstract images. Developing the notion of "productive transformation", he wishes to compose from scratch the image he has of an object, and not to reproduce it.

It is therefore without any precise rules, but according to his instinct, that he discovers and then perfects the methods of processing and printing, to which he will add superimposition, solarisation, and other chemical manipulations. At the beginning of the 1950s, he made the photogram his favourite process. A contact and camera-free photographic technique, the photogram allowed Catherineau to compose his works using only light and the imprint of the object. Detached from the first generation of experimental photography of the 1930s, he does not practice the photogram as an automatic play, but rather as a demanding and disciplined compositional. During his experiments and in the last part of his life, he even destroyed all the prints that he considered minor or imperfect, leaving only works of great intensity.

Works
Video
Biography

Born in 1925 in Tours, Roger Catherineau studied drawing and painting at the École du Louvre and the École des Arts de Paris before initiating his photographic practice. Disappointed by laboratories, he would proceed and print his photographs himself. He soon developed an abstract expressionist style, and in 1955 he was invited to participate in the major exhibition Subjektive Fotografie 2 in Saarbrücken.  His work was also exhibited in France, Belgium and Germany and published in numerous international magazines and compilations. His photographs are in the collections of the French Musée National d'Art Moderne, the Bibliothèque Nationale de France and the Folkwang Museum in Essen (Otto Steinert collection). Roger Catherineau died in 1962. 

Press
Exhibitions
Art Fairs

Roger Catherineau Français, 1925-1962

Œuvres
Présentation

Dès 1948, le travail photographique de Roger Catherineau se construit comme une quête d’expérimentation. Rejetant toute notion de représentation du réel, il élabore des images non référencées, troubles et le plus souvent abstraites. Développant la notion de « transformation productive », il souhaite composer de toutes pièces l’image qu’il se fait d’un objet, et non pas le reproduire.

C’est donc sans règle d’or mais selon son instinct qu’il découvre puis perfectionne les méthodes de développement et de tirage, auxquelles il ajoutera les surimpressions, les solarisations, les virages et autres manipulations chimiques. Au début des années 1950, il fait du photogramme son procédé de prédilection. Technique de l’image par contact et sans appareil, le photogramme permet à Catherineau de composer ses œuvres avec la seule lumière et l’empreinte de l’objet. Détaché de la première génération de photographie expérimentale des années 1930, il ne pratique pas le photogramme comme un jet automatique, mais comme une technique de composition exigeante et maitrisée. Il détruit d’ailleurs tous les tirages jugés mineurs ou inachevés au fil de ses expérimentations et dans la dernière partie de sa vie, ne gardant que des œuvres d’une grande intensité.

Biographie

Né en 1925 à Tours, Roger Catherineau se forme au dessin et à la peinture à l’École du Louvre et à l’École des Arts de Paris avant d’initier sa pratique photographique. Déçu par les laboratoires, il développe et tire lui-même ses photographies. Très vite, il élabore une pratique expressionniste abstraite, et il est invité en 1955 à participer à la grande exposition Subjektive Fotografie 2 à Sarrebruck. Son œuvre est également exposée en France, en Belgique et en Allemagne, et publiée dans de nombreuses revues et compilations internationales. Ses photographies sont dans les collections du Musée National d’Art Moderne, de la Bibliothèque Nationale de France et du Musée Folkwang à Essen (collection Otto Steinert). Roger Catherineau meurt en 1962.  

Expositions